If we prayed…

12 Sep

Lately, I have had quite a stirring for prayer…. prayer for myself, for my family, for my friends, students, church, our nation…

If we are not careful, we can get funky in our thoughts about prayer. When we are worn out, stressed and tired, praying for anything other than grace seems like “work”. If we are not careful prayer can begin to feel like a dreaded “religious” activity…

I am reminded today of 2 Chronicles 7:14

IF my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.”

Numerous times throughout scripture we see strong cause/effect relationships when it comes to our decision to pray… or not to pray…

In Psalm 106:23, we see that because Moses decided to stand in the gap through prayer, destruction did not come on God’s people. Then in Ezekiel 22:30 we see that because no one decided to stand in the gap to pray…the land was destroyed.

Parents, get stirred up today to pray for your children. Because of your prayers their future will be different. Pray throughout the day, pray while you are driving, pray with your kids, pray with your spouse. Get stirred up to pray without ceasing. Stand in the gap through prayer for your children!

Pray for their future. Pray for their friends. Pray for their spouses. Pray about their relationship with God. Pray for favor. Pray for protection. Pray for their strength and endurance. Pray, pray, pray. Cover your children’s life with prayer – their life will never be the same because of it!

Pray it!: Lord, I believe your Word, and I believe that there are powerful results as a result of my faith-filled prayers. Today, I choose to pray more…especially for my children. Today, I pray from my heart for my children’s lives and futures. Lord, bless my children, cause your favor to surround them. Strengthen them, grace them, anoint them. May they draw closer to You and know Your voice and love Your Word…. I love you, Lord. 

Leave a Reply

